What was the Jacques Delors Agora ?

The Jacques Delors Agora was a four-day event co-organised by three partners engaged in the promotion of European citizenship and values : The Académie Notre Europe (Paris), The Scuola di Politiche (Rome) and The Academia Europea Leadership (Barcelona).

It brought together around 130 young minds from all over Europe to discuss with European decision-makers and experts about the main challenges facing the EU and the priorities for the upcoming five years. The Agora empowered young Europeans through debates and workshops and took place in Lisbon from July 1st to 4th 2024.

You can discover its programme below.

Who were the Jacques Delors Agora participants ?

For the Agora, applications were open between March and April of 2024, and we invited anyone aged between 18 and 35 who was willing to contribute to the discussions on the future of Europe.

It was an event for all citizens, regardless of their backgrounds, giving a unique forum for young people to gather, exchange ideas and determine Europe’s Future. As the event was conducted entirely in English, a B2 level (CEFR) in English was asked to ensure a smooth running of the event. The geographical diversity of the participants was one of the selection criteria, to ensure that as many nationalities as possible were represented.

In the end, 130 profiles from all over the world were selected. We’re proud to have 32 nationalities represented, and to to have upheld gender equality with 50% female participants, 50% male The youth cohort we’ve selected was anything but homogenous : we had students, government staff, workers and unemployed people. Some had studied European politics, others had not. The Agora aimed to be a place for diverse and enriched debates.

Where did the Agora take place ?

The Agora took place in different, unique locations around Lisbon!

  • The first day took place at the National Assembly of the Portuguese Republic
  • The second day took place at the Capitolio
  • The third day took place at the European Maritime Safety Agency (EMSA)
  • The fourth day took place at the Gulbenkian Foundation, with a closing ceremony held at the National Palace of Belém

Who were the speakers ?

This first edition of the Jacques Delors Agora welcomed several decision makers, including members of the European Commission, representatives of the European Parliament and representatives of National Governments and International Organisations. Here is a gallery of all the speakers.

Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa

President of the Portuguese Republic

    Federica Mogherini

    Former High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy

      António Vitorino

      Former Director-General of the International Organization for Migration

        Laurence Boone

        Former French Secretary of State for European Affairs

          Pascal Lamy

          Coordinator of the Jacques Delors institutes network (Paris, Brussel, Berlin)

            Gaëtane Ricard-Nihoul

            Director of the Jacques Delors Institute

              Isabell Hoffmann

              Expert at Bertelsmann Stiftung and Head of eupinions

                Teresa Ribera

                Spanish Minister for the Ecological Transition and the Demographic Challenge

                  Enrico Letta

                  President of the Jacques Delors Institute
                  Author : Much more than a market report

                    Maja Markovčić Kostelac

                    Executive Director of the European Maritime Safety Agency

                      Paulo Rangel

                      Portuguese Minister of State and of Foreign Affairs

                        Geneviève Pons

                        Director of Europe Jacques Delors

                          Carlos Moedas

                          Mayor of Lisbon

                            Nicole Gnesotto

                            Vice-president of the Jacques Delors Institute

                              José Pedro Aguiar-Branco

                              President of the Assembly of the Portuguese Republic

                                Elisa Ferreira

                                European Commissioner for cohesion and reforms

                                  Didier Reynders

                                  European Commissioner for Justice

                                    Inês Domingos

                                    Portuguese Secretary of State for European Affairs

                                      António M. Feijó

                                      President of the Board of Trustees of the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation

                                        Sylvie Matelly

                                        Director of the Jacques Delors Institute

                                          Sofia Fernandes

                                          Director of Académie Notre Europe

                                            Anna Lührmann

                                            German Minister of State for Europe

                                              Maroš Šefčovič

                                              Executive Vice-President of the European Commission

                                                Arancha González

                                                Former Spanish Minister of Foreign Affairs, EU and Cooperation

                                                  Colin Scicluna

                                                  Head of Cabinet, Vice-president for democracy & demography at the European Commission

                                                    Sofia Moreira de Sousa

                                                    Head of the Representation of the European Commission in Portugal

                                                      Lukáš Macek

                                                      Deputy Head of Unit, Citizens’ Dialogues Unit, European Commission

                                                        Christine Verger

                                                        Vice-president of the Jacques Delors Institute

                                                          Who were the partners of the event ?

                                                          This event was organised under the high patronage of His Excellency the President of the Portuguese Republic, Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa

                                                          The Jacques Delors Agora was organised in partnership with :

                                                          • The Assembly of the Portuguese Republic
                                                          • The Representation of the European Commission in Portugal
                                                          • The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation
                                                          • The Lisbon City Council
                                                          • The European Maritime Safety Agency
                                                          • The Bertelsmann Stiftung
                                                          • The Jacques Delors European Information Center
                                                          • The Directorate-General for Economic Activities (DGAE)

                                                          Need more info ?

                                                          Follow us on social media on LinkedIn, X and Instagram!

                                                          For any inquiries, please email: info@academienotreeurope.eu